You may tire of me as our December sun is setting 'Cause I'm not who I used to be…

God lift me out 

 
Olympus OM-D E-M5, 75mm f1.8 

I’ve struggled with this photo. Taking it. Posting it. I’ve agonized over it for more than a year. 

This man, down on his luck. I don’t want to exploit him. Too many come to our city and do just that. I just had to get the photo when I turned the corner and there he was. 

He wouldn’t tell me his name when we took some cover and I bought him a warm cup of coffee and a meal. He just thanked me and said “God Bless”. 

I haven’t seen him since. 

5 responses

  1. Reading something like this gives me new hope for Mankind! Thank you!

    June 12, 2015 at 2:37 PM

  2. I think it’s a very compassionate photo. I’m glad you shared it.

    June 12, 2015 at 2:44 PM

    • You did the right thing.

      June 12, 2015 at 4:26 PM

  3. very moving story

    June 13, 2015 at 11:24 AM

  4. J. Williams

    Reblogged this on Just James-isms and commented:
    When something like this is common in a capitalist society, is capitalism really working.

    June 14, 2015 at 4:26 PM